Our People

Professor Phyllis Butow : PoCoG Chair

Prof Phyllis Butow AM (BA(Hons), MPH, MClinPsych, PhD) is Professor, and NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow in the School of Psychology at the University of Sydney. She is Chair of PoCoG and a Co-Director of the Centre for Medical Psychology and Evidence-based Decision-making (CeMPED), University of Sydney. She is the 2009 International Psycho-Oncology Society Bernard Fox award for outstanding contribution to Psycho-Oncology research and 2011 Clinical Oncological Society of Australia Tom Reeve award for outstanding contribution to cancer care. She was NSW Cancer Researcher of the year in 2012.

Learn more...


Professor David Kissane : Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) Chair

Prof David Kissane (MD, BS, MPM, FRANZCP, FAChPM, FAPM) is an academic psychiatrist, psycho-oncology researcher and author. He is Professor and Head of Discipline of Psychiatry, Chairman, Department of Psychiatry, School of Clinical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences, Monash University; and Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medical School and Memorial Sloan-Kettering cancer Center, New York, USA.


Dr Jeremy Couper : PoCoG Deputy Chair

Dr Jeremy Couper (MBBS, MD, MMed(psych), FRANZCP) has been Head of Psychiatry at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre for 10 years and a Consultation-Liaison Psychiatrist at St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne and a member of academic staff of the Department of Psychiatry, University of Melbourne, for nearly twenty years. He will take up the role of Clinical Director Acute Mental Health with the ACT Health Department based at The Canberra Hospital in mid-November 2016. He has served as part of a panel of international expert advisers on the management of Prostate Cancer for Movember, on the Clinical Network Executive Committee for Cancer Council Victoria, as Chair of the Victorian Psychiatry Training Committee and Victorian Director of Advanced Training in Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry for the RANZCP, and led the development of the mental health clinical teaching curriculum for the “Melbourne Model” post-graduate medical course at the University of Melbourne. He has been a leader in Victoria over two decades in medical student teaching, psychiatry training and in the development of the sub-specialty of consultation-liaison psychiatry in addition to holding leadership roles in the field of psycho-oncology. He has led several psycho-oncology clinical research projects funded by beyondblue in the areas of prostate cancer, breast cancer and head and neck cancer and has published research findings in major international scientific journals and presented, including as invited speaker, at international scientific conferences.


Dr Haryana Dhillon : Scientific Advisory Committee Deputy Chair

Dr Haryana Dhillon B.Sc MA (psych) PhD is an academic behavioural scientist and psycho-oncology researcher. She is Research Fellow in Cancer Survivorship at the Centre for Medical Psychology and Evidence-based Decision-making at the University of Sydney and the CeMPED Deputy Director within the Central Clinical School. She is a member of the Board and Council of the Clinical Oncological Society of Australia (COSA), and chair of the COSA Survivorship Group.


Dr Joanne Shaw : PoCoG Executive Director

Dr Joanne Shaw (BApplSc, BPsych(Hon), PhD) is a research psychologist, psycho-oncology and medical communication researcher with a background in biomedical science and pharmaceutical research. She is a Research Fellow in the School of Psychology, The University of Sydney and PoCoG Executive Director. She is a member of the Research Committees for the International Psycho-oncology Society (IPOS) and the European Association for Communication in Health Care (EACH).

Ms Bonnie Laxton-Blinkhorn : PoCoG Executive Officer

Bonnie Laxton-Blinkhorn MA (Hons.) has a background in content production, media and communications and has worked in a wide variety of industries. She is the PoCoG executive officer responsible for communications.